Pro discounts for makeup artists: the 2026 brand list
A pro discount (often called a pro card) lets working makeup artists, and at many brands students, buy products below retail, usually 20% to 40% off. Below is every program we checked on the brand's or store's own site on October 27 and 28, 2026: the discount, whether students qualify, the fee and how to apply. For the documents to prepare and the order to apply in, see how to get a pro card and actually get approved.
By Nina Mua, Founder of Online Makeup Academy | Last updated: October 28, 2026
Jump to: at a glance | brand by brand | pro stores | no pro program | union cards | FAQ
How pro discounts work
Brands and pro beauty stores sell to verified professionals below retail because artists use their products on clients. Most programs are free, most take 20% to 40% off, and many limit what you can buy (Camera Ready caps pro purchases at $3,000 a year, for example), because the discount is for your kit, not for resale.
You apply to each program separately, usually with a photo ID plus one or two proofs that you work or train in makeup: a makeup school certificate or diploma, a call sheet or tear sheet with your name, a portfolio website, a union card, or a cosmetology or esthetician license. Programs differ on what they accept (Frends and Temptu don't take business cards, and Inglot asks for three proofs), so check each brand's list below. Our pro card approval guide covers the documents in detail.
Pro cards for OMA graduates
A makeup school certificate or diploma is accepted proof at many of the programs below, Graftobian, Nigel Beauty and Frends among them. OMA's Master Makeup Program ends in a certificate and includes a bonus module on getting pro cards and discounts, and graduates get guidance on pro memberships with our partners Frends Beauty and Nigel Beauty Emporium.
Pro discounts by brand
At a glance (checked on each program's own site, October 27 and 28, 2026)
| Brand or store | Pro discount | Students | Fee | How to apply |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alcone store | Up to 40% | Up to 20% (programs of 80+ hours) | Free | Sign in, then apply online |
| Anastasia Beverly Hills | 40% (30% beauty community) | 20% (50+ in-person hours) | Free | Online application |
| bareMinerals | No pro program (see below) | |||
| Beautyblender | 40% on pro-kit orders | Not in the program | Not stated | Email artistry@beautyblender.com |
| Ben Nye | No pro program (see below) | |||
| Benefit | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | See Benefit's FAQ |
| Bobbi Brown | Closed to new members, or the brand has closed (see below) | |||
| Camera Ready Cosmetics store | Not stated on its pro page | Yes | Not stated | Create an account, then the online form |
| Charlotte Tilbury | 30% | 30% | Free | Create an account, then the online form |
| Cinema Secrets | 40% (Platinum Pro) | 20% (Gold Pro) | Not stated | Online form |
| Cover FX | Closed to new members, or the brand has closed (see below) | |||
| Danessa Myricks Beauty | 25% (application page says 20%) | 15% | Not stated | Online form (registered customers) |
| Dior | No pro program (see below) | |||
| Estée Lauder | No pro program (see below) | |||
| Eve Pearl | 40% | Not mentioned | Not stated | Email support@evepearl.com |
| FACE atelier | Not shown on its page | Yes (Student program) | Free | Online forms |
| Fenty Beauty | No pro program (see below) | |||
| Frends Beauty Supply store | Up to 40% | Student documents accepted | Free | Create an account, then email 2 proofs |
| Graftobian | 20% | No pro tier | Not stated | Online form |
| Haus Labs | No pro program (see below) | |||
| Hourglass | 30% | 20% | Free | Create an account, then apply |
| Huda Beauty | No pro program (see below) | |||
| Illamasqua | Closed to new members, or the brand has closed (see below) | |||
| Inglot (US) | 30% (makeup artists) | 10% | Not stated | US boutique, or register and email 3 proofs |
| IT Cosmetics | Closed to new members, or the brand has closed (see below) | |||
| Kevyn Aucoin | 40% (25% industry insiders) | Not a separate tier | Free | Online form |
| Kosas | No pro program (see below) | |||
| Kryolan | 20% | Not listed | Not stated | Apply from your kryolan.com account |
| Lancôme | No pro program (see below) | |||
| Laura Mercier | 40% | 25% (Emerging Artists) | Not stated | Online form |
| LORAC | No pro program (see below) | |||
| MAC Pro | 40% (30% allied pros) | 20% (classes of 25+ hours) | $35 a year or $65 for 2 years | Online at macproapplication.com |
| Make Up For Ever | 40% (30% industry pros) | 30% (36+ hours of study) | Free | Log in, then apply online |
| Makeup by Mario | 30% | 20% (Apprentice) | Not stated | Online form |
| Mehron | 20% | 15% (Student & Teacher) | Free | Create an account, upload 2 proofs |
| Morphe | Closed to new members, or the brand has closed (see below) | |||
| Naimie's Beauty Center store | Up to 40% | Yes (school ID or enrollment letter) | Free | Online form (Studio Pro) |
| Naked Cosmetics | Not published | Not mentioned | Not stated | Email proartist@nakedindustry.com |
| NARS | 40% / 30% / 25% by tier | 25% (Apprentice) | Not stated | Sign in, then apply online |
| Natasha Denona | Not published | Not stated | Not stated | Online registration |
| Nigel Beauty Emporium store | 0% to 40% by brand | Yes (% not stated) | Not stated | Online form or in store |
| NYX Professional Makeup | 30% | Yes (makeup artistry school) | Free | Free NYX account, then apply |
| ONE/SIZE | 30% (Artist Pass) | 20% (Student Pass) | Not stated | Verify through SheerID |
| Pat McGrath Labs | No pro program (see below) | |||
| Patrick Ta | 30% | 20% | Not stated | Online upload form |
| Rare Beauty | Not published | Yes (% not published) | Not stated | Via its Partnerships page |
| RCMA | No pro program (see below) | |||
| Saie | No pro program (see below) | |||
| Sally Beauty store | 5% to 20% by category (makeup 5%) | Yes (cosmetology student ID) | Free | In store, with Sally Beauty Rewards |
| Sephora | No pro program (see below) | |||
| Sigma Beauty | Up to 40% | Yes (% not stated) | Not stated | Sigma account, then apply online |
| Smashbox | 40% VIP, 30% freelancers | 20% | Not stated | Register, then upload documents |
| Stila | No pro program (see below) | |||
| Tarte | 40% (licensed pros) | 20% | Not stated | Verify through SheerID |
| Temptu | 30% | Not mentioned | Not stated | Email 2 proofs and ID |
| Too Faced | No pro program (see below) | |||
| Tower 28 | No pro program (see below) | |||
| Ulta Beauty | No pro program (see below) | |||
| Urban Decay | Closed to new members, or the brand has closed (see below) | |||
| Viseart | 25% | Reduced rate (% not stated) | Free | ProShop application or email |
| Westman Atelier | 30% | Not eligible | Free | Online form |
| YSL Beauty | No pro program (see below) | |||
"Store" means a pro beauty supply store: one approval gives you its pro price on many brands. Percentages are the program's own maximums and often vary by product. Programs change without notice, so confirm on the brand's page before you apply.
Brand by brand: who qualifies and what to send
Anastasia Beverly Hills
- Discount: ABH Pro gives 40% to makeup artists and 30% to the beauty community (hairstylists, cosmetologists, estheticians, models, performers and similar). Membership is free and lasts 1 year.
- Students: 20% for cosmetology or makeup school students with at least 50 hours of study, all completed in person (online hours don't count).
- Send: one current document for your tier, for example a professional website, a union card, agency representation, an editorial credit or an IMDb page. ABH usually answers the same day.
- Limits: $500 a day, 5 of any one product or shade per order, and $10,000 a year after discounts.
- Apply on the Anastasia Beverly Hills site
Beautyblender
- Discount: the Artistry Program gives 40% on pro-kit orders (its hub page says on orders of $75 or more), up to 7 of the same item, for US residents.
- Send: a US photo ID plus a union card or your agency page, by email to artistry@beautyblender.com; replies take 2 to 3 weeks.
- Apply on the Beautyblender site
Benefit
- Program: Benefit's own FAQ confirms Benefit PRO, a program for makeup artists, cosmetologists and aestheticians. Its terms live on a separate PRO site linked from that FAQ, which we couldn't open to check, so we don't quote numbers here.
- Apply on the Benefit site
Charlotte Tilbury
- Discount: 30% on CharlotteTilbury.com for makeup artists and students alike; bundles, kits and sale items are excluded. Membership is free and lasts 2 years.
- Send: a photo ID plus two of: an accredited makeup school qualification or a professional license, an editorial credit, a business card, a crew call list, or a reference letter from a beauty brand. Students send one proof, such as an enrollment letter, payment confirmation or a diploma from the last 6 months.
- Timing: allow up to 30 days for an answer.
- Apply on the Charlotte Tilbury site
Cinema Secrets
- Discount: Platinum Pro gives working professionals 40% (2 years); Gold Pro gives students, estheticians, cosmetologists, hair stylists and others 20% (1 year). Some products online get 20% and 10% instead. US residents only.
- Send: a photo ID plus two proofs, such as a union card, a cosmetology or esthetician license, a comp card, a makeup artist certificate, a call sheet, a business card or a portfolio website; students send proof of enrollment. Allow 10 to 15 business days.
- Apply on the Cinema Secrets site
Danessa Myricks Beauty
- Discount: DMB Pro lists 25% on its program page, while its application page still says 20%; ask the brand which applies. Beauty school students get 15%.
- Send: a government photo ID, at least two work credentials (for example an IMDb profile, union card, business license, beauty school diploma, or a transcript for students) and a business website link; personal social accounts don't count.
- Timing: reviews can take 30 or more business days.
- Apply on the Danessa Myricks Beauty site
Eve Pearl
- Discount: 40% for professional makeup artists, per Eve Pearl's FAQ; email support@evepearl.com to apply.
- Apply on the Eve Pearl site
FACE atelier
- Program: FACE Pro has Artist, Student and Insider programs; free, valid 1 to 2 years, used on faceatelier.com. The percentages and document lists sit behind each program's requirements link.
- Apply on the FACE atelier site
Graftobian
- Discount: 20% on nearly all products at Graftobian.com; the Pro Card lasts 1 year and is renewable; US residents only. Students and teachers can get 20% off its student theatrical kits by email.
- Send: a photo ID plus two of: union card, cosmetology or esthetician license, makeup artist certificate, call sheet, business card, or a portfolio or professional website. Processing can take 10 or more business days.
- Apply on the Graftobian site
Hourglass
- Discount: 30% for working makeup artists (bridal, editorial, film, TV and other industry pros); 20% for students of makeup artistry, aesthetics, cosmetology or the performing arts. Free; the code lasts 2 years.
- Send: a valid ID with your credentials (students: proof of enrollment). Allow 3 to 4 weeks.
- Apply on the Hourglass site
Inglot (US)
- Discount: 30% for makeup artists, aestheticians, performers and nail technicians; 20% for cosmetologists, hairdressers, bloggers and models; 10% for students. Valid two years.
- Send: three proofs, for example another pro membership card, a tear sheet or reel with name credit, a call sheet, a union card, a makeup artist business card, agency representation, or a student ID or enrollment documents.
- Apply on the Inglot (US) site
Kevyn Aucoin
- Discount: Team Kevyn gives makeup artists 40% and industry insiders 25%, with no membership fee; up to $3,000 a year and 3 identical items at a time. The page says it's open to professionals and students but lists no student tier.
- Send: a photo ID plus two current proofs for artists (for example a call sheet, union card, license, press credit, agency page or makeup website), or one for insiders. Allow about a month.
- Apply on the Kevyn Aucoin site
Kryolan
- Discount: 20% on Kryolan products with the PRO CARD, in Kryolan City shops (San Francisco in the US) and online where available.
- Send: your business card and certificates or call sheets; the local Kryolan partner checks them and emails a digital card.
- Apply on the Kryolan site
Laura Mercier
- Discount: 40% for working lead artists in editorial, TV and film; 25% for Emerging Artists (students at an accredited makeup school, or assistants). US mailing address needed.
- Send: two credentials from the last two years (pros: for example an agency page, crew list, tear sheets, union card or license; students: student ID and class syllabus). Replies take 2 to 4 weeks.
- Limits: 6 of one item per transaction or 24 hours, and $3,000 a year.
- Apply on the Laura Mercier site
MAC Pro
- Discount: 40% for makeup artists, including union and agency-represented artists; 30% for allied pros such as estheticians, cosmetologists, hairstylists, models and photographers; 20% for students in a class of at least 25 hours. North America only; 18 and over.
- Fee: $35 for one year or $65 for two; MAC says it processes applications within 3 business days.
- Send: current proof with your name and profession, issued within the last 3 years, such as a union card, agency representation, editorial credit, professional license, your own professional website or a call sheet. Non-agency comp cards and business cards are not accepted. Students send proof of enrollment or payment from the last 6 months.
- Apply on the MAC Pro site
Make Up For Ever
- Discount: the Backstage Pro Program gives makeup artists 40% for 2 years, and industry professionals and students 30% for 1 year. It's free.
- Students: at least 36 hours of study in makeup, cosmetology, esthetics, performing arts or visual arts; send one proof such as an enrollment confirmation, student ID, transcript or proof of payment.
- Send: makeup artists: a photo ID plus two of agency representation, a union card, a call sheet or tear sheet from the last 6 months, your own professional website, or a business LLC or service contract.
- Apply on the Make Up For Ever site
Makeup by Mario
- Discount: 30% for professional makeup artists (a 3-year membership); 20% for Apprentices, meaning students in training (1 year). 18 and over.
- Send: professionals: two documents from the last 12 months, for example a call sheet, union card, license, press credit, agency page, makeup website, credited editorial or a retail pro membership. Apprentices: one, such as a beauty school transcript or a call sheet as makeup assistant. Decision within 14 days.
- Limits: 5 of one item per purchase and $1,600 a month after the discount.
- Apply on the Makeup by Mario site
Mehron
- Discount: 20% on Mehron.com orders with no annual fee, US only; students and teachers get 15% through a separate program (sign up with a school email).
- Send: any two of: a Powder Group or Professional Beauty Association membership, a portfolio site, an active union card, a tear sheet with your credit, a cosmetology or esthetician license, a makeup school certificate or diploma, or a call sheet on production letterhead.
- Apply on the Mehron site
Naked Cosmetics
- Program: the Pro Artistry Program page publishes no discount or requirements; it asks artists to email proartist@nakedindustry.com.
- Apply on the Naked Cosmetics site
NARS
- Discount: NARS PRO: Artist 40% (celebrity, editorial, film and TV), Industry 30% (industry pros and bridal or event artists), Apprentice 25% (students and assistants). US residents only; up to 3 of the same product; renew every 2 years.
- Send: a US photo ID plus one proof for your tier: Artist, for example agency representation, a recent credited editorial or a makeup union card; Industry, a professional license, a business LLC or a professional website; Apprentice, a school transcript with enrollment dates. Answers within 14 days.
- Apply on the NARS site
Natasha Denona
- Program: Natasha Denona runs a Pro Artist Registration, but its page publishes no discount; the team contacts you to verify your makeup background and education.
- Apply on the Natasha Denona site
NYX Professional Makeup
- Discount: Makeup Crew PRO gives 30% on most products at nyxcosmetics.com (not new or sale items), up to $2,000 of spending in 12 months; US residents only; free.
- Send: a photo ID plus a cosmetology or esthetician license or certificate (pros), or proof of enrollment at a makeup artistry school (students). Allow up to 14 days.
- Apply on the NYX Professional Makeup site
ONE/SIZE
- Discount: the ONE/SIZE Artist Pass gives US licensed estheticians and professional makeup artists 30% with a new one-time code each month; a separate Student Pass gives any active US student 20%.
- How to apply: verification runs through SheerID, a third-party service, from the Artist Pass page.
- Apply on the ONE/SIZE site
Patrick Ta
- Discount: 30% for professional makeup artists; 20% for students with an approved beauty-related school transcript. US residents only; up to 10 of the same product; reapply every 2 years.
- Send: a US photo ID plus two documents from the last 12 months (for example a call sheet, union card, license, press credit, agency page or makeup website); students send a transcript with enrollment dates. Approval takes about 10 business days.
- Apply on the Patrick Ta site
Rare Beauty
- Program: Rare Beauty's Pro Artist Program terms say the discount is set by Rare Beauty and don't publish it; students in accredited cosmetology or makeup programs can apply. You need a Rare Beauty account.
- Apply on the Rare Beauty site
Sigma Beauty
- Discount: Sigma Beauty PRO gives up to 40% on most regular-priced items (sets, collaborations and sale items excluded); cosmetology and makeup artistry students are accepted.
- Send: a photo ID plus documents of your work or enrollment.
- Apply on the Sigma Beauty site
Smashbox
- Discount: Smashbox Pro: VIP artists 40%, freelancers 30%, students 20% (while enrolled), on Smashbox.com only.
- Send: a photo ID plus, for VIP, two of a union card, agency representation, business card or two recent tear sheets; for freelancers, two of a cosmetology or esthetician license, a reference letter, business card, crew call list or a makeup artistry certificate from the last 5 years; for students, proof of current enrollment at an artistry school or certificate program.
- Apply on the Smashbox site
Tarte
- Discount: 40% for pro makeup artists, which Tarte's FAQ describes as licensed cosmetologists, estheticians and similar licensed pros; students get 20%. Both run through SheerID from the Special Offers page, with one code a month for eligible items up to $500. US only.
- Apply on the Tarte site
Temptu
- Discount: 30% sitewide, 35% on auto-replenishment, up to 44% with volume discounts; US shipping only.
- Send: a valid ID plus two of: tear sheet with name credit, agency comp card, union card, call sheet with name credit, cosmetology or esthetician license, or a letter of employment, to customercare@temptu.com. Business cards and other pro cards aren't accepted.
- Apply on the Temptu site
Viseart
- Discount: 25% sitewide on viseartparis.com through the free ProShop program; up to $1,000 and three of any item per order; pro orders are final sale.
- Send: Viseart sends its document list by email (pro@viseartparis.com); answers come within 14 days.
- Apply on the Viseart site
Westman Atelier
- Discount: 30% on the collection (exclusives, limited editions, sets and accessories excluded), free, valid 2 years, up to $5,000 a year; for makeup artists only, not students.
- Send: a photo ID plus two professional credentials issued in the last 12 months. Reviews take up to 6 weeks.
- Apply on the Westman Atelier site
Pro stores: one approval, many brands
If you're starting out, a pro store account is often the fastest way to pro prices on many brands at once.
Alcone (pro store)
- Discount: up to 40% for working makeup artists and hairstylists; up to 20% for students in a makeup, cosmetology or esthetics program of 80 hours or more; up to 15% for performers. Percentages vary by brand.
- Send: one of: a cosmetology or esthetician license, a union membership card or a TPG Pro card. Or any two of: call sheet, tear sheet, business card, contract, IMDb page, website (not social media), or a diploma from a makeup, cosmetology or esthetics program of 80 hours or more.
- Terms: free, 2-year membership; works online and in the New York store.
- Apply on the Alcone site
Camera Ready Cosmetics (pro store)
- Discount: covers "more than 70+ PRO beauty brands" (Camera Ready's wording), including Danessa Myricks, RCMA, Viseart, Ben Nye and Kevyn Aucoin. The pro page gives no percentage.
- Who qualifies: makeup artists, estheticians, hair stylists, beauty students and other industry professionals.
- Limits: pro purchases are capped at $3,000 a year per customer (Camera Ready's terms); the form asks for a photo ID.
- Apply on the Camera Ready Cosmetics site
Frends Beauty Supply (pro store)
- Discount: up to 40% sitewide in the "Frends With Benefits" program; it varies by product and brand.
- Send: two proofs with your name and valid dates: beauty school diploma, call sheet, tear sheet, union card, IMDb link, student ID, cosmetology or esthetician license, makeup or hair business license, business website, TPG membership, or a beauty school enrollment letter or paid invoice.
- Not accepted: business or comp cards, other pro cards, social media accounts, letters of recommendation, resumes and unfinished websites.
- How to apply: create an account, then email the two proofs to fwb@frendsbeauty.com; Frends answers within 2 business days.
- Apply on the Frends Beauty Supply site
Naimie's Beauty Center (pro store)
- Discount: up to 40% in the PRO+MEMBER program, for working hair and makeup professionals in the US and Canada.
- Send: a business license or union card (professionals), a SAG-AFTRA card (performers), or a school ID card or enrollment letter (students).
- Keep it active: free, but you need one purchase in your first three months and one every twelve months after.
- Apply on the Naimie's Beauty Center site
Nigel Beauty Emporium (pro store)
- Discount: "0% - 40% off MSRP", depending on the brand, online and in its North Hollywood store.
- Who qualifies: working makeup artists, hair stylists, cosmetologists, estheticians and union members, plus a student discount for makeup, cosmetology and beauty school students.
- Send: a driver's license or state ID plus two of: school diploma, tear sheet with name credit, a website showing your work, another pro membership card, an invoice for professional work, or a program or call sheet. A valid cosmetology or esthetician license or a union card counts on its own.
- Apply on the Nigel Beauty Emporium site
Sally Beauty (pro store)
- Discount: up to 20%, tiered by category: 5% on cosmetics, skin care and hair care, 10% on hair color, nail polish, appliances and salon supplies, 20% on select hair color. It's mainly a hair and salon store.
- Who qualifies: anyone with a professional beauty license, a cosmetology school student ID or proof of salon ownership; a makeup certificate isn't on its list.
- How to apply: in a Sally Beauty store, with a store associate, while joining the free Sally Beauty Rewards.
- Apply on the Sally Beauty site
Closed programs and brands with no pro program
Checked October 27 and 28, 2026. Older pro discount lists still name some of these.
Closed to new members, or the brand has closed
- Bobbi Brown: the US Pro Program (40% online) is "not accepting new applications"; existing members can still use it. Source
- Cover FX: the brand closed in January 2026, and its pro program with it. Source
- Illamasqua: stopped taking pro applications in 2024; its site now redirects to LookFantastic.
- IT Cosmetics: IT ARTIST is "no longer accepting new members" or renewals. Source
- Morphe: its US pro membership was put on hold and the page is gone; Morphe now runs only a customer loyalty program and a creator program.
- Urban Decay: UD Pro is "no longer accepting new members at this time". Source
No pro program
- bareMinerals: no pro program on its site.
- Ben Nye: a wholesale manufacturer that doesn't sell to individuals; pro stores such as Camera Ready carry it. Source
- Dior: no pro program; Dior Beauty Privé is its loyalty program for all customers.
- Estée Lauder: no pro program; Estée E-List is its customer loyalty program.
- Fenty Beauty: "Currently, we do not have a pro discount for makeup artists, estheticians, or hair stylists." Source
- Haus Labs: no pro program; it routes makeup artists to a creators email.
- Huda Beauty: no pro discount; it points pro artists to its creator ambassador program, which pays in vouchers and commissions. Source
- Kosas: no pro program on its site.
- Lancôme: no pro program; My Lancôme Rewards is its customer loyalty program.
- LORAC: no program of its own; its FAQ sends artists to Naimie's Beauty Center. Source
- Pat McGrath Labs: "does not offer professional discounts at this time." Source
- RCMA: "we do not give a pro discount at this time"; it points artists to the pro stores that carry it. Source
- Saie: no pro program on its site.
- Sephora: no pro discount for makeup artists; pro pricing on the brands it sells comes from each brand's own program.
- Stila: its FAQ says a Pro Artist Program is being built but hasn't launched. Source
- Too Faced: "we do not offer any pro discounts at this time." Source
- Tower 28: no pro program on its site.
- Ulta Beauty: no pro discount for makeup artists; its offers run through Ulta Beauty Rewards, open to all shoppers. Source
- YSL Beauty: no pro program; YSL Beauty Club is its customer loyalty program.
Makeup artist union cards
A makeup "union card" is proof that you belong to an IATSE local for makeup artists and hair stylists. NARS, Make Up For Ever, Inglot and Graftobian all list a union card as accepted proof. You can't buy one: you qualify through days worked on film, TV, commercial or theater jobs.
- Local 706 (Hollywood). Covers film, streaming, TV, commercials, live theater and theme parks. The usual route is Contract Services' Industry Experience Roster: 60 days a year in 3 of the last 5 years on productions in L.A. County (non-union work counts), 60 days on one union production with a waiver, or 30 days on a non-union production that goes union. Makeup artists also take a color blindness test and safety classes. How to join Local 706
- Local 798 (New York and much of the eastern US). 180 paid days in film, TV, theater or video in the last 4 years (weddings, editorial, events, salon and retail work don't count), 18 months living in its area, 4 reference letters and a digital portfolio. Applications are taken once a year, in June (June 1 to 30 in 2026), and the initiation fee is $3,500. How to apply to Local 798
- Other regions. Smaller IATSE locals also cover makeup, for example Local 484 in Texas and Oklahoma. Find yours in IATSE's local union directory.
Frequently asked questions about makeup artist pro discounts
What makeup brands offer pro discounts?
Among the biggest US programs we checked in October 2026: MAC Pro (40% for makeup artists), Make Up For Ever (40%), NARS (up to 40%), Smashbox (up to 40%), Anastasia Beverly Hills (40%), Kevyn Aucoin (40%), Charlotte Tilbury (30%), Makeup by Mario (30%), Patrick Ta (30%) and NYX Professional Makeup (30%). Pro stores such as Camera Ready, Alcone, Naimie's and Nigel Beauty give pro prices on many brands with one approval. The table above lists every program.
What is the Makeup by Mario pro discount?
30% for professional makeup artists (a 3-year membership) and 20% for Apprentices, meaning students in training (1 year). Professionals send two documents, such as a call sheet, union card, license or credited editorial; Apprentices send one, such as a beauty school transcript. Purchases are capped at 5 of one item and $1,600 a month.
What is the Make Up For Ever pro discount?
Its Backstage Pro Program is free: 40% for makeup artists (valid 2 years), and 30% for industry professionals and for students with at least 36 hours of study (valid 1 year). Makeup artists send a photo ID plus two proofs, such as a union card, agency representation or a call sheet from the last 6 months.
Does Too Faced have a pro discount?
No. Too Faced's customer service page says it doesn't offer any pro discounts at this time (checked October 2026).
Does Bobbi Brown still have a pro program?
Bobbi Brown Pro gives members 40% off online, but the US program isn't accepting new applications (checked October 2026). Existing members can still use it.
Does Sephora or Ulta have a pro discount?
No. Neither runs a pro discount for makeup artists (checked October 2026); Ulta's offers run through Ulta Beauty Rewards, which is open to all shoppers. For pro prices, apply to each brand's program or to a pro store such as Camera Ready, Alcone, Naimie's or Nigel Beauty.
Can makeup students get pro discounts?
Yes, at many brands: Make Up For Ever (30%, 36+ hours of study), Charlotte Tilbury (30%), NARS (25%), Laura Mercier (25%), MAC (20%, classes of 25+ hours), Smashbox, Hourglass, Patrick Ta and Makeup by Mario (20% each), Anastasia Beverly Hills (20%, 50+ hours completed in person) and NYX (makeup artistry students). Most ask for proof of current enrollment.
Do you need a license to get a makeup artist pro discount?
Usually not. Most programs accept other proof, such as a makeup school certificate, a call sheet, a tear sheet or a union card, with a cosmetology or esthetician license as one option among them. A few do want a license: Sally Beauty, for example, asks for a professional beauty license or a cosmetology student ID. Whether you need a license to do makeup for pay is a separate question: 32 states and DC require a cosmetology or esthetics license for paid makeup, 13 states don't license makeup-only work, 3 have a makeup permit and 2 depend on the setting. See do you need a license to be a makeup artist?
What is a makeup artist union card?
Proof of membership in an IATSE local for makeup artists and hair stylists, such as Local 706 in Hollywood or Local 798 in New York and the eastern US. You qualify through days worked on film, TV, commercial or theater jobs (see union cards above). NARS, Make Up For Ever, Inglot and Graftobian are among the programs that accept one.